thvast.blogg.se

Textexpander android
Textexpander android













For example, advisees often ask me about my university’s policy on CLEP tests to demonstrate foreign language proficiency, and I can type a several-paragraph answer simply with the snippet “-clep.” There are even some FAQ’s for which I find myself repeatedly typing explanations, and these are also good candidates for TextExpander snippets.

textexpander android

It’s a lot faster to type “-cc” than “Core Curriculum.” I’m also an academic advisor, and TextExpander has helped me to streamline my advising correspondence with snippets for frequently-used phrases such as “Core Curriculum,” “English Studies,” “College Writing,” “Science with Lab,” and more.

textexpander android

Frequently-used phrases and paragraphs in advising emails TextExpander creates a popup box where I can fill in the student’s name, and then while I’m watching their screencast, I can easily fit my notes into the appropriate grading criteria and add any further summary feedback to the headnote. Please see my notes taken while watching your video below, organized by the presentation grading criteria, and I hope you have a great summer! For example, when I provided feedback on student-created screencasts for History of the English Language, I used the snippet “-helproj” to generate the following template: Avoid “floating quotes.” See here for more about signaling quotations: Templates for student feedbackĭepending on the assignment, I sometimes find it helpful to create a common template to structure my grading feedback. Make sure to weave each quotation into your own sentence by introducing it with a signal phrase. For example, my “-float” snippet expands into: These types of comments are ideal for TextExpander snippets, which can even include links to helpful resources. For example, I often find myself reminding students to use present tense when writing about literature, to make sure that quotes are signaled effectively, or to use a particular citation format. Most of my feedback is personalized, but there are a handful of frequently-used comments that crop up on many students’ essays. When I’m grading essays, I typically provide feedback inline as comments in the essay file and also write a summary note to students at the end of the grading rubric. Here are a few ways that I’ve incorporated TextExpander snippets into my teaching and advising: Frequently-used comments in essay-grading Even better, TextExpander easily syncs your collection of snippets, if the app is installed on multiple devices. The small TextExpander app runs in the background, and you can use snippets in virtually any space that you would normally type in: Word or Excel documents, emails in Gmail, Outlook, or other email apps, text boxes in web browsers, such as any of the many things that I type in the Blackboard LMS. Even for short bits of text like a name, TextExpander saves a little bit of time and effort. Shrieves,” so I can type “-dr” and it will automatically expand. For example, I usually sign messages to my students with “Dr. Through TextExpander, you create “snippets,” which are bits of text called up using an abbreviation, sort of like creating your own shorthand. I finally decided to try it out, and discovered that it’s definitely useful for teachers and academic advisors! This post provides an overview of TextExpander and a few examples of how TextExpander has helped to streamline my grading and correspondence in some subtle but helpful ways. If you find yourself typing the same long names or phrases, but regular prediction isn't quite cutting it for you, give text expansion a try.On a couple of podcasts that I listen to, I kept hearing about a tool called TextExpander. Finally, the feature doesn't extend beyond the Google Keyboard, so you won't be able to pull this off with other popular keyboards, like SwiftKey. Further, you won't have automatic cross-device sync, which means setting up shortcuts on every device you own. To begin with, this is text expansion in its simplest form there are no variables, smart dates, or neat tricks we're accustomed to in desktop alternatives like AutoHotKey. Like the Apple method, there are a few shortcomings to this option.

textexpander android

Some people may notice that this is nearly identical to the iOS method of text expansion, which also takes advantage of the system-wide user dictionary. That's it! Any time you type the shortcut, the first recommendation will have your expanded text (notice the 3rd screenshot). If you have multiple languages set up, you may want to change the language dropdown to target all languages.Enter a long phrase and your shortcut text.OR- With the Google Keyboard already open on your screen, long-press the microphone button for the settings icon, then tap on Google Keyboard Settings. Keep in mind, if your phone has an OEM skin, things might be named differently or a little out of place. Go to Settings -> Language & input -> tap on the settings icon for Google Keyboard.















Textexpander android